NEW RELEASE: Dear Ones (single) – The Cosmic Array

Penned by Abby Sohn and Paul Battenbough, Dear Ones is the first single from the Cosmic Array’s upcoming album, Islands. Release date: 1 April 2016

(Cover image by Mark Zeuk Roberts.)


The Cosmic Array were founded via a collaboration between Paul Battenbough (No Thee No Ess, King of Despair) and Huw Rees (Rag Foundation, King of Despair) that started in late November 2012. Their 2014 self-titled debut album introduced their unique brand of sci-fi themed alt country/Americana music:

“This excellent record is a thing of definite, if expertly tarnished, splendour. The thoughtful and accomplished songs are undeniably sharp, and a joy from beginning to end…”
– Ian Fildes, AmericanaUK

The new album Islands, sees the line-up bolstered by the considerable talents of singer-songwriter Abby Sohn, an American expat living in South Wales. The result is an immersive album – richly textured layers of sound fronted by the assured, languid vocal styles of both Battenbough and Sohn. It’s at times tender (Dear Ones), at times wholly uncompromising (Drones).


“The dozen tracks that make up ‘Islands’ are of such exquisite beauty that we hoped the album would never end…it’s a wondrous, magical, musical journey from beginning to end.”
– Welsh Connections

The album was mixed & produced by Mat Wigley at Rhondda Street Studios, Swansea and mastered by Gaz Williams. Performing on the album are: Paul Battenbough, Huw Rees, John Coward, Abby Sohn, Mat Wigley, Andy Fung, Danny Kilbride, John Elvis Berry, Frank Naughton

This entry was posted in New Releases and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *