NEW RELEASE: ‘The Sword & The Shield / Botanica’ – Valeska Gavotte

We are pleased to announce the release of the debut album by the extraordinarily talented young artist from Boston US, Valeska Gavotte.

The Sword & The Shield / Botanica – Valeska Gavotte (f0092)
Release date: 2 April 2013

Order the CD: £8.99 + P&P

Alternatively visit Bandcamp to preview and buy the download album +/- the CD:

Or find it on iTunes or Amazon MP3:
Valeska GavotteValeska Gavotte

  1. The Pergola Reprise
  2. In Arbor Pavillion
  3. Waltz for Culpepper
  4. Gavotte’s Ladder
  5. Rot Flower Village
  6. War Hymn
  7. Drema’s Melody
  8. Maple Circle Suite
  9. The Mimosan Folk


“The work of Valeska Gavotte, aka 23 year old Kevin Leahy, is one of my favourite Bandcamp discoveries in a long time. Leahy’s compositions show incredible elegance, particularly considering he plays everything himself in a stunning mixture of violin, guitar, banjo, piano, mandolin and countless other instruments; it’s undeniably impressive. His sound is the kind without immediately obvious points of reference, but there’s definitely strong similarities with Sufjan Stevens instrumentally, while the feathered production recalls Efterklang and his voice could easily be a less burdened Zach Condon.”
– Sonic Reverie

“Films often make me cry, but music almost never does – but Azure posted an album that almost broke my drought – by Valeska Gavotte. It’s like something from edenic pre-tag days, some lazysexy gentle fingers on a banjo-string or piano-key, a voice unembarrassed at not being a singer, a raggedy gnarly muddle of soft bedroom events. It’s love.”
– Great Albums Of The Week

This entry was posted in New Releases and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Warning: count(): Parameter must be an array or an object that implements Countable in /homepages/43/d70411683/htdocs/folkwit/wp-includes/class-wp-comment-query.php on line 399

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *