Alexander von Mehren

Aéropop Revisited is an EP of remixes of selected tracks from Alexander von Mehren‘s beautifully constructed 2013 debut album, Aéropop. The EP features remixes by Sean O’Hagan (The High Llamas), Andy Ramsay & Joe Watson (Stereolab), Orwell, Young Dreams, Dave LeBleu (The Mercury Program) and Crookram and was mastered by Alex Wharton at Abbey Road Studios.

The remixers approached the material from different perspectives writing and recording new parts and even lyrics each of them adding their own signature to von Mehren’s compositions, making the EP feel like a collection of new music rather than remixed tracks.

“While many remix projects end up as incoherent messes or ego trips for the remixers, Aéropop Revisited works as a perfect companion to the original work…”
– Tim Sendra,

The first single from the remix album of Alexander von Mehren‘s wonderful album Aéropop: Aérosuite (Sean O’Hagan Remix – The House That Jack Built) is a re-imagination of the original work by the High Llamas front man Sean O’Hagan.

Aéropop is the stunning debut album of Norwegian multi-instrumentalist Alexander von Mehren. It’s a wonderful slice of baroque/chamber pop in the vein of StereoLab and The High Llamas.


“The minute you press play, you’re immediately swept away on a swanky daydream adventure where everyone wears pillbox hats and skinny ties…get ready to have a soundtrack for all future cocktail parties.”

“…an exquisitely crafted, richly arranged modern pop gem. Taking influence from bossa nova, cocktail jazz, lounge music, and Burt Bacharach-ian complicated pop…It’s music tailor-made for easy listening, created by a musician with full control over his craft and imbued with a tender grace that makes the album simple to appreciate.”
– Tim Sendra, All Music

“…von Mehren blends cinematic jazz and pop with French and English lyrics. This is the kind of music that would make for an ideal Jean-Luc Godard film score, or a backdrop for a cocktail party—that is, provided you’re planning on throwing your soirée in outer space. Stereolab fans take note: this is warm, big-hearted, and occasionally weird music, likely to have Laetitia Sadier and the gang experiencing a competitive twinge.”
– Laura Studarus, MTV Iggy

“With its shimmering vibraphones, sprightly strings, burbling electronics and weightless melodies that always shun the well-worn path, Aeropop is sure to delight anyone who worships at the space-age shrines of Stereolab and the High Llamas.”
– Chris Evans, Broadcaster and Journalist, Host of the Curveball (WCR-FM)

“Inspired by ’60s and ’70s pop, perhaps Abbey Road was the perfect recording location for him, as there is a hint of The Beatles about this song, and the arrangements are as rich as their later works, with all kind of instruments vying for space and managing to work perfectly in unison rather than sounding cluttered.”
– The Sound of Confusion

“…such a careful balance of musical elements betrays the work of a sonic perfectionist – von Mehren’s music might be easy on the ear, but it’s not simply easy-listening.”
– Peel Apart

“…an overwhelmingly pleasant slice of lounge-y chamber pop.”
– The Line of Best Fit

“…dapper lounge-fusion je ne sais quoi.”
– Stereogum

Check out the official video for Chanson De Douche – taken from the album:

About Alexander von Mehren:

Alexander von Mehren is a 29 year-old (b. 1984) pianist, songwriter and producer from Bergen, Norway. He started playing the piano at the age of four and began receiving classical piano lessons when he turned seven. During his ten years of classical training, von Mehren gradually developed an interest in alternative music and started writing his own compositions, especially inspired by French, German, Italian and British library music, 60s/70s soundtracks, alternative pop à la Stereolab and The High Llamas and the Chicago-based post-rock scene.

von Mehren established his own studio, The Guestroom, outside Bergen and gradually filled it with recording equipment and instruments such as upright piano, Fender Rhodes, Moog, keyboards, vibraphone, marimba, bass, guitars, drums and percussion, allowing him to work with a variety of sounds in his music. In 2005 von Mehren started the recording of his debut album, developing an airy and organic soundscape with a meticulous approach to songwriting within the alternative pop scene, presented in lively instrumentals as well as songs with French and English lyrics. Playing most of the instruments himself, and continually helped by guitarists Fredrik Drønen and Erlend Alm Lerstad, vocalists and strings and brass performers, von Mehren finished the recording process in the summer of 2010 shortly before spending two weeks at Soma Electronic Music Studios in Chicago mixing the album with producer John McEntire.

The album, entitled Aéropop, was mastered by Steve Rooke at Abbey Road Studios in London April 2012 and released August/ September 2013 on double 180 gram vinyl, CD and digital formats in North America (The Control Group), United Kingdom (Folkwit Records), Japan (Rallye Label) and Norway (Klangkollektivet). The album is available everywhere else on digital formats via Aéropop Records. Aéropop also features musical contributions by members of The High Llamas, Tortoise, Jaga Jazzist, Orwell and Modular.

von Mehren appears live with a six-piece ensemble consisting of guitarists Fredrik Drønen and Erlend Alm Lerstad, bassist Chris Holm, drummer Kim Åge Furuhaug, percussionist Marius Erster Bergesen and saxophonist Erlend Hausken. The band debuted at a sold-out Landmark in Bergen December 2009 before performing at Kvarteret in Bergen and the by:Larm festival in Oslo February 2011 as well as Jassbox/Bergenfest April 2011, Tellés Sommerfest August 2012 and several release concerts in Norway August/September 2013. von Mehren is scheduled to appear at SXSW March 2014.

von Mehren also performs regularly in the live bands of Sondre Lerche and Nathalie Nordnes and has contributed live and in studio with acts such as Bobby Hughes Combination (piano, keyboards), Kinny & Horne (piano), Chris Joss (vibraphone), Orwell (strings and brass arrangements, piano, percussion), Le Futur Pompiste (vibraphone), Milk (Taro Umebayashi) (drums, percussion, vibraphone, vocals), Young Dreams (vibraphone, glockenspiel), The Sheriff (piano, keyboards, vibraphone), William Hut (piano, keyboards), Hypertext (piano, keyboards, vibraphone), O. Martin (production, mixing, piano, vibraphone) and The Alexandria Quartet (strings arrangements).


Comments are closed.