Dylan Mondegreen

We are pleased to announce that we are releasing Norwegian artist Dylan Mondegreen‘s latest album in the UK in partnership with Division Records (Norway).


“…flawlessly written and performed, and produced with uncommon skill and grace…it’s likely one of the best singer/songwriter records of 2012, and most any year that came before.”
– Tim Sendra, AllMusic.com (Album Pick)

In December the album was listed in AllMusic’s Favorite Singer/Songwriter Albums of 2012 alongside the likes of Bob Dylan, Van Morrison and Beth Orton

“Dylan Mondegreen is the pseudonym for the Norwegian recording artist Børge Sildnes and if you’re not at all familiar with the top-knotch quality these Scandinavian indie-pop artists are capable of…all I’m sayin’ is if his live show is any good Jens Lekman will be nervous.”
-Jacob Graham, NME, November 2012

“All in all this is not only masterfully crafted; it is a beautifully composed and elegantly produced…”
Band Of Banjo Playing Badgers

“Reminiscent in many ways of those recordings made by the likes of Cifford T Ward and Al Stewart the tracks featured here will bring a feeling of tranquillity and wash over you with its lush orchestration and gently cooed words. I may sound as if I’m going a bit soft but if you’re as bruised by the battles of every day living…as most of us are…then this album could help alleviate some of those problems.  Sit back, relax and enjoy with a nice cup of Horlicks…Highly recommended.”
Pete Fyffe, UK Folk Music Magazine

“…bewitching, expansive symphonic pop topped off with dreamy male/female harmonies and infectious vocal pop hooks that weave an intoxicating and seductive spell on the listener…it’s a widescreen full-bodied album with a near orchestral feel topped off by Borge’s soft almost lulling croon…a lovely, serene album for lovers of well-crafted, expansive pop and heartfelt simplistic tales of love and loss.” (Rating=8)
Rhythm & Booze

“Together with the expertise of Catt, Sildnes achieves deliver an almost perfect independent pop album, where the heart dictates the content, and not vice versa. We invite you to take a step forward in the fantastic and beautiful world of Dylan Mondegreen.”
– We Are Hunted (Spain)

“…a mesmeric gem of a release, a warm breeze over the senses and a sensuous piece of emotive elegance.”
– The Ringmaster Review

“Hold onto your hearts and open your ears, indie-pop fans: your newest crush is Dylan Mondegreen.”
– Three Imaginary Girls

“The sound is sumptuous, warm and well-crafted.”
– Get Ready to Rock!

“His music is sophisticated, orchestral indie-folk-pop and it is that sophistication that sets him apart from your average singer-songwriter. That and his ability to write a catchy melody that still suits a serious lyric.”
– Dai Jeffries, Folking.com

“…a gentle and warm voice…floats gently above the harmony of the backings instrumentals.  This album is very easy to listen to; while you are doing housework, relaxing, studying, working or just out and about…refreshing and new,…” ★★★★★
Rhys Maroney, AAA Music

“…dreamy pop in the mold of Prefab Sprout; whimsical without being too twee…There is not much around like this and it is great to hear some quality pop music.”
– David Spencer, Music-News.com

“…an album of tender emotional songs characterised by gentle vocal melodies and rich textures of woodwind, strings and percussion…The overall result is an album of songs you can repeatedly play which increase with depth and interest on each listening.”
– Becky White, Artree

“…this magnificent third album was produced by Ian Catt (Saint Etienne, The Field Mice) and contains nine tracks of indie-pop sublime and delicate indie-pop…”
– Indie-Rock.it

“Dylan Mondegreen‘s Baccarach-lite orchestration and arrangement is slick, swish, lush and lucid in perfect measure…”
– Sean Keenan, Trebuchet Magazine

“…it has that wonderful airy, carefree sound to it that borders on easy listening, but with an actual message to deliver. ” ★★★★
– Pete Muscutt, MusicMuso.com

“…a smooth blend of intricate beauty and sublime thought – but tempered with just under the surface pessimism that is surely a product of his geography…Well worth your hard earned pennies.” 7/10
– Andi James Chamberlain, Subba-Cultcha.com

About Dylan Mondegreen:

“Indie-pop has entered its soft-rock phase, and… it sounds pretty good!”
– Pitchfork

“I’ve just discovered Dylan Mondegreen, a Norwegian songwriter who hasn’t released anything since 2009′s ‘The World Spins On’. He writes sad, sweet songs – dare I make a Blueboy comparison? Perhaps! There are equal measures of Jens Lekman, Acid House Kings and Sufjan Stevens in there, too.”
– Jacob Graham (The Drums), NME

“The music he and his band creates is luxurious…”
– Pop Matters

Dylan Mondegreen is a pseudonym for the Norwegian recording artist Børge Sildnes. Børge has been releasing quality music since the mid-2000s and has subsequently acquired a dedicated fan-base worldwide. His two previous albums have sold more than 5000 copies, but this will be his first album officially released in the UK. The richly orchestrated record brings to mind recent Belle & Sebastian and some of the melodic highs in the Teenage Fanclub catalogue – from the honey-sweet opener “Castaway” to arguable album highlights, “The Heart Is A Muscle” and the winsome Americana of “You Make It Easy”, Dylan’s songwriting glows.

The new album was produced and mixed by Ian Catt, best-known for his work with Saint Etienne, The Field Mice and other bands on the Sarah Records label. The result is undoubtedly Børge’s most gorgeous recordings to date. Symphonic and lush, the album is filled with string ensembles, woodwinds and percussion, showing why his widescreen music has been compared to the likes of Jens Lekman, Prefab Sprout and Sufjan Stevens in the past.

While the whole recording process itself was a lengthy one, the song Life as a Father gives a very big clue as to why. An intelligent and mature record that spans a life-changing time for the artist, Dylan Mondegreen’s latest has been worth the wait and is a perfect introduction to a British audience.

Read Dylan Mondegreen’s first UK interview from Chord Blossom.



Comments are closed.